This ancient place in Ayutthaya period, which differs from the others in the City Island having been changed, has been continuously used until nowadays.
In the reign of King Naresuan, as King Ekathosarot sailed along the Chao Phraya River, he got shipwrecked on his way back. He swam to the “ Lane Island” where he met his concubine named “In”. Later she gave birth to a son who was looked after by Phrayasithumathirat. Some historian said that the boy became King Songthum. In 1632 King Phrasat Thong had delicated his old residence to construct the Chumphon Nikayaram Temple, then had a pond dug , and Phra Thinang Aisawan Thiphaya At was constructed.
The name “Bang – Pa – In” originated from the name of “ Prince In”, an out throne son of King Phrasat Thong, who performed the tonsorial ceremony on this island.
Bang – Pa – In Island was the place for the Royal Barge Procession of King Rachathibodi who governed Ayutthaya City. However, when the new capital was established in Bangkok, Bang – Pa – In Palace was deserted for over 80 years. It was only during King Rama IV’s reign that Bang – Pa – In Palace was again visited by kings. King Rama IV stayed there and had a house built in the old palace compound. His son, King Rama V who liked the place, constructed the royal palace in 1872 as it is seen and went to stay there every year by boat or by special train. The palace consists of 5 Royal Residences (Phra Thinang) as; Phra Thinang Aisawan Thipaya At, Phra Thinang Warophat Phiman, Phra Thinang Wehart Chumrun, Phra Thinang Withun Tasana and Phra Thinang Uthayan Phumisathian.